Final Report


Held at

DoubleTree Club Hotel
Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, Florida

November 7, 2000


Prepared by

Ampere A. Tseng, Arizona State University
William C. Tang, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
Yung-Cheng Lee, University of Colorado
 James Allen, Sandia National Labs

Sponsored by

 National Science Foundation
Arizona State University

Workshop Organizing Committee
Ampere A. Tseng (Chair) Arizona State University
William C. Tang (Area Leader in Fabrication) Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
James Allen (Area Leader in Applications)  Sandia National Labs
Yung-Cheng Lee (Area Leader in Packaging)   University of Colorado
Jong-I Mou (ASME Liaison) Arizona State University

Fabrication Working Group
Minking K. Chyu, Delcie R. Durham, Stephane Evoy, Gary Fedder, Robert Horning, Michael A. Huff, Kevin Kelly, Thomas Kenny, Nader Najafi, Stella W. Pang, Taher A. Saif, Robert Sulouff, William C. Tang, Norman Tien, and Ampere A. Tseng

Applications Working Group
James J. Allen, N. R. Aluru, Suresh G. K. Ananthasuresh, Kuan Chen, Fred K. Forster, Abraham P. Lee, Subrata Mukherjee, Chao-Hung Steve Tung, George P. Vakanas, Qing-Ming Wang, and Frederic Zenhausern

Packaging and Reliability Working Group
Daniel F. Baldwin, J. Albert Chiou, Ken Gilleo, Shiv Joshi, Yung-Cheng Lee, Liwei Lin, Guo-Quan Lu, Ajay P. Malshe, John Patrick O'Connor, Bahgat Sammakia, Peter Sandborn, and Qing Tan

Workshop Observers*
Abhijit Chandra, J. S-J. Chen, Patrick Phelan, I. Charles Ume, Lun-shin Yao, and Jack G. Zhou

All opinions expressed in this report are those of the participants and do not necessarily represent the position of the workshop sponsors

Additional copies of this report may be obtained by contacting:

Ampere A. Tseng
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Arizona State University
P. O. Box 876106
Tempe, Arizona 85287-6106  USA

This report may also be found in the Website: 

* Attended a portion of the workshop